Mikael Aktor

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingEncyclopedia chapterResearchpeer-review


The pañcāyatanapūjā is a worship of five gods, normally Śiva, Viṣṇu, Sūrya, Gaṇeśa, and Devī. In some cases Gaṇeśa would be replaced by Kārttikeya or Brahmā. The most common form of worship is with five specific stones, each representing one of the deities. But also small figurines and engraved yantras can be seen. The stones, figurines, or yantras are placed on a tray for domestic worship with one god in the centre.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationBrill’s Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online
EditorsKnut A. Jacobsen, Helene Basu, Angelika Malinar, Vasudha Narayanan
Place of PublicationLeiden
Publication date10. Jun 2020
Publication statusPublished - 10. Jun 2020


  • Pañcāyatanapūjā
  • Ritual
  • Hinduism
  • Aniconism


Dive into the research topics of 'Pañcāyatanapūjā'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this